International Snowmobile Hall of Fame - Eagle River, WI

ISHOF Inductees - 1995

Bud Wieman - 1995 Inductee to International Snowmobile Hall of Fame - Eagle River, WI

C.J. "Bud" Wieman - Volunteer

Bud was born in Michigan and, following service in the Marine Corps during World War II, became a businessman in Franksville, Wisconsin. His initial interest in snowmobiling came about 1965 after a ride on an Evinrude "Skeeter". His devotion to the sport continues today. During his lengthy involvement with the sport he recognized that organizing snowmobile clubs was primary to the continued growth of the sport. He has held many positions in local clubs as well as regional and state snowmobile organizations. In 1974, Bud was elected president of the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC). It was also during this same period that Bud became extremely active in legislative issues which pertained to the sport of snowmobiling. Bud has always had an affinity for vintage snowmobiles. In 1976, he established the Antique Snowmobile Club of America in an effort to preserve the remaining machines that made history in the early days of the sport. Bud presently resides in Alabama and each year rides an old, specially-equipped Ski-Doo snowmobile in Christmas and Mardi Gras parades there. In addition to his lengthy and active involvement in local, county, state, regional, national and international snowmobile organizations, Wieman, although retired, still finds time to write a variety of newsletters and publications for various civic, fraternal and snowmobile organizations.

Roger Skime - 1995 Inductee to International Snowmobile Hall of Fame - Eagle River, WI

Roger Skime - Designer
Thief River Falls, Minnesota

Roger began his early association with the sport of snowmobiling working at the Arctic Enterprises plant in Thief River Falls, Minnesota. His thirty (30) years of design and engineering skills were recognized by the Company's management. He became  Vice President of Engineering for the snowmobile division of Arctco Inc. The design and engineering features he incorporated into Arctic Cat's "Panther" models quickly raised the snowmobile from that of a rugged utility vehicle to a truly stylish and spirited winter recreational machine. Innovations such as a front-mounted engine, new hood design which opened for easy access to the engine and drive, aluminum chassis and tunnel and spring-loaded slide rail suspension all combined to make the Panther models a real force to contend with in the snowmobile industry. Roger's devotion to snowmobile design and engineering spans more than three (3) decades.  He saw snowmobiling transition from the heavy, lumbering motorized toboggans of the early 1960s to the sleek and shiny sleds which streak across the snow today. He had a heavy hand in that transition, including improvements which afforded greater dependability and a reduction in maintenance. Constant improvement, refinement and development now provides snowmobilers with the most reliable, dependable and trouble-free machines possible. Roger's design and engineering techniques have assisted in making many of the improvements in the snowmobile industry a reality.

C. Willard Pike - 1995 Inductee to International Snowmobile Hall of Fame - Eagle River, WI

C. Willard Pike - Volunteer
Colebrook, New Hampshire

During his lifetime, Willard's association with the sport of snowmobiling included service, organizational as well as charity efforts which spanned local, county, state, national and international boundaries. He has also received numerous awards resulting from his activities in the establishment of local, regional and state snowmobile clubs and organizations in the early days of the sport. His dedication and commitment to the charity elements of snowmobiling is legendary. As president of the New Hampshire Snowmobile Association, Willard established an annual Easter Seal Ride which has since resulted in contributions of nearly $900,000. In 1987, he was selected as "Most Valuable Snowmobiler" by Snowmobile Magazine. In addition, he was honored by the Governor and Council of New Hampshire for his organizational and charitable efforts.